Thankful, Grateful, & Blessed

It’s Thanksgiving. The one day in the year where families go around the table saying what they’re thankful for. Clearly, that’s a generalization, but the fact of the matter is we don’t do this enough. I’m going to speak for myself and say the holidays always spark this generous, reflective and motivated phase for me. I come up with all of these plans and goals, and decide that I’m going to make a change, and never do. Now, recently I’ve been going through a state of reflectiveness and mindfulness, REALLY trying to evaluate where I’m at and what it is going to take to get me to where I want to be without the added stress and worry that comes with the future and the unknown. I understand that I am incredibly fortunate, I’m getting a college education while playing lacrosse, the sport I love, at a division one level, I’m surrounded by a family that loves me and is willing to support me in all of my endeavors and even sacrifice for them, and so much more. What I’ve come to realize though, not to sound selfish, is that even with this, I’m not happy. That doesn’t mean I am not thankful for the opportunities I’ve been give, grateful for the people that have gotten me to where I am today, or blessed to be living, because I am. However, I will not maximize the potential these incredible things have to offer until I make changes in my life. With that being said, I plan to continue this reflectiveness, not letting it go as soon as the clock strikes midnight and Black Friday begins and I lose track of what I have and shift my focus to my wants. I want to be better and starting today I plan on making a conscious effort to do so.

Yes, today is Thanksgiving, be grateful and thankful, but remember that we’re blessed with 364 more days in the year in which we need to do the same.

XOXO,

G

Leave a Reply

