A Good Life Project by Johnathan Fields

This past weekend I visited my best friend. She goes to school in upstate NY, and let me tell you the drive was something else: beautiful but BORING. She happened to leave this part out describing it as an EASY ride compared to the hectic route I take through New York City to get to my school. She was smart to play it down though, she knows me well, because I was already nervous about visiting her in the first place. I’m not one for handling crowds and new people well, they tend to make me incredibly anxious, and I was going to visit her school for the biggest football game of the year. I’m SO happy I went. It ended up being a weekend just to have fun and just be with my best friend. I got to see what school is like for her, and how it differs from mine, and I loved it. I also was going through complete best friend withdrawal and needed a weekend away with my person.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
This girl gives me life. We were really proud of this pic & we love to match LOL (check the shoes)

Anyways, because I sat in radio static or silence for the majority of my way there, I decided to download podcasts to my phone for the ride home. Scrolling through iTunes, I came across a podcast entitled “Good Life Project,” here’s the link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/good-life-project/id647826736?mt=2 . Now, before you judge, listen to one of the episodes. As I drove through the mountains and middle of nowhere, listening to Johnathan Fields and the guests he has on his show, I made a choice. I chose to act, and live a “good life.”

Instead of doing the homework I neglected all weekend, or going to bed considering I had conditioning at 6 the next morning, as soon as I got home I created this blog. Why? I honestly think just because of the inspiration and motivation I got from listening to 4 hours straight of really amazing and driven people tell their stories. Seems like a good enough reason to me. Anyways, looking back I think I wanted to be able to look at and see my progress both as an individual and a professional. This idea of the “haven” has two parts, I’m still searching for mine, yet, I also want to provide it for others. Obviously, it isn’t that simple, or at least it hasn’t been for me so far.

I’ve come to realize, from podcasts, talks with friends, books, and more, that before I can make a difference for others I need to make a difference for myself. I have struggles, plenty of them, and in order to be able to be a source of reliability for others I need to learn how to depend on myself. I’m going to have to love myself, believe in myself and most importantly BE MYself before I can do anything happily for anyone else…and that is where I’m going to start.

So if you’re still reading this, one, I love you, and two, THANK YOU for being a part of this, because in my head YOU are holding me accountable. I hope you stick around, and  that one day you will be reading this blog or be involved in something bigger that came out of it to provide the “haven” that we all desire.

Love,

Grayson

Leave a Reply

